Deleting a Prescription Return
Learn how to delete an incorrectly recorded prescription return, preserve the right details, and understand how the deletion affects audit history and related actions.
In some situations, like recording a return under the wrong prescription, you may find that you need to delete a prescription return that was erroneously recorded. Deleting a return will remove the entire transaction line-item entry. If the return must be rerecorded, please be sure to take a screen shot of the details prior to deleting so you can reenter the return as it was correctly.
All deletions are visible in the protocol audit trail. Deleting a return also deletes any actions taken after the return was recorded, such as destruction or return to sponsor.
Returns that are associated with voided prescriptions cannot be deleted.
- Navigate to the Protocol
- Click on the Inventory Tab
- Click on Manage Drug Returns
Note - If the return was already recorded as destroyed or sent back to the sponsor, you will need to toggle to Return to Sponsor/Destruction
- Click on the date on the left side
- A window will pop out with all of the information about the return
- Click Delete this Return at the very top.
Caution - If you need to add this return back in, please be sure to take a screenshot of the entire return info, including any return to sponsors/Destruction dates, so you can enter the return in again with the correct info.
- Enter a short reason for why you are deleting the return. This is visible on the audit trail.
- Click on the Save button
If inventory was itemized or multiple inventories were recorded, you may need to delete those items as well.