Managing Protocol Contacts
This article covers modifying or inactivating protocol contacts.
Over the course of a protocol, team members change and it is important to keep the protocol contacts updated. This includes changing Contract Roles or inactivating a contact on a protocol. This article covers each of those scenarios, as well as how the stop dates work with protocol contacts.
Required Permissions
ProtocolSnapshot – Ability to view the Summary page of a Protocol (Protocol Snapshot)
ViewContacts – View contacts in a protocol
ProtocolManagement – Allows a user to have the “Edit Protocol” option and access to the Main tab
EditProtocolContacts– Ability to edit Protocol Local tab. Protocol Management permissions are required
Contents
- Modifying Protocol Contacts
- Inactivating a Protocol Contact
- Adding an End Date to a Protocol Contact
- Reactivating a Protocol Contact
Note - If you are modifying a contact entry that is managed by the CTMS interface, this will unlink that protocol contact, and they will be readded by the interface at the next update interval. This applies to each of the sections below.
Modifying Protocol Contacts
This section would be used if a contact role was inadvertently added as one contact role, but it should've been a different role, or maybe the role is correct but the authorized prescriber flag was set wrong.
- Navigate to the protocol
- Click the Contacts Tab
- Click on Manage
- Locate the contact to modify and click Edit
- Modify the Contact Role or Authorized Prescriber flag
- Click the Submit button
Inactivating a Protocol Contact
If a contact is no longer working on the protocol, they can be inactivated from the Manage Protocol Contacts screen.
- Navigate to the protocol
- Click the Contacts Tab
- Click on Manage
- Locate the contact to remove and click Inactivate
- Users will need to click Confirm to complete the inactivation
Adding an End Date to a Protocol Contact
If you received communication that a study coordinator is changing positions on a day in the future, you can edit the protocol contact record to add an end date for that contact. Once the day is reached, the contact will automatically be inactivated on the protocol.
- Navigate to the protocol
- Click the Contacts Tab
- Click on Manage
- Locate the contact to modify and click Edit
- Add an End Date
- Click the Submit button
Reactivating a Protocol Contact
If a contact was previously inactivated but needs to be reactivated on a protocol, this can be completed with a few clicks.
- Navigate to the protocol
- Click the Contacts Tab
- Click on Manage
- Uncheck the Show Active Contacts Only flag
- Locate the contact to reactivate and click Reactivate
- Users will need to click Confirm to complete the reactivation