Processing a Refill
Refill an existing prescription while automatically carrying over all original order details.
When processing a refill, you will only have to select new inventory to use with the prescription. All prescription details from the original dispense are copied to the refill. Complete the required fields and click Save when complete. Save will do the same steps as a new prescription including print labels. The original prescription number will end with -0 and any refills will be subsequently numbered.
By design, Vestigo will allow only the appropriate amount of inventory to be dispensed. In this screenshot, the system will not save a dispense that is for more bottles that the total number of quantities allowed by the original prescription.


Step 1: Open the Patient Profile
Navigate to the protocol, click on the Patients/Subjects tab and select the Participant’s MRN number.

Step 2: Utilize the Refill Link
Once you are on the Participant Profile, click number value in the Refill column for the original prescription. If the original fill was not written with refills, then you cannot process a refill.

Step 3: Select an Order
Since we are refilling a prescription, the order field will be locked and can't be modified

If “Patient Schedule Type” or “Dosing Weight” are required on the Order Build, these need to be entered to continue. If not available, these options can be dismissed by using “This is an unscheduled visit” and “Do not record” checkboxes. You will need to provide a reason for not recording the weight.
Step 4: Select Inventory for A Dispense – Single Full Tracking Drug on Dispense
The dispensing facility will default to the current facility the user is in, unless that facility is not listed on the protocol. The user will need to select the facility from where the inventory to be used is currently located in. The user will have options to facilities that meet both requirements:
- Are facilities on the study (see Local tab)
- Are facilities where the user has a role (that has dispensing permissions)
Any drug that is Full Tracking and inventory is on hand, not expired, and either General Inventory or indicated as Participant Specific for that participant, will display the available inventory. The user will be prompted to select the link “Select Inventory To Be Used” and enter in the number of inventory units used from the grid of available inventory for this drug.

The Dose Amount and Units will populate from the previous dispense. If it needs to be modified, users should review the original prescription prior to proceeding.
Step 4a: Select Inventory for A Dispense - Multiple Full Tracking Drugs on Dispense
The previous steps are the same to dispense using an Order Build with multiple drugs. There are three situations where this may occur to review:
- Multiple drugs on an order but you only need to dispense one drug
- Enter the dose amount/units (units is from the drug build)
- Select the inventory
- Click Save
- Click the link “Complete Prescription with Current Selection” to complete the prescription.
- Multiple drugs on an order but you only need to dispense some of the drugs
- Enter the dose amount/units (units is from the drug build)
- Select the inventory
- Click Save
- Repeat for each drug needed to dispense
- Click the link “Complete Prescription with Current Selection” to complete the prescription.

- Dispense all drugs on the multiple drug build:
- Enter the dose amount/units (units is from the drug build)
- Select the inventory
- Click Save
- Repeat for each drug needed to dispense
If multiple inventories are used on the dispense, the Drug Accountability Record (DARF) will represent each drug’s dose as a combination of the Dose Amount, Dose Unit and Dose Description (i.e., 10 mg (rx: 10mg/ml))
Step 5: Prescription Details
Much of the details from the base dispense will populate, but some fields will be locked from modification. Users will want to make all appropriate modifications to the fields on this screen as needed.

Please reference this section to learn more about each of the fields.
Step 6: Saving the Prescription
When complete, click the blue Save button to save the prescription. The save process does several things concurrently:
- Records the prescription
- Prints the dispensing labels
- Decrements the any full virtual inventories and writes the accountability log entries
- Records any dispensing fees (based on the fee(s) added to the Order build
- Records any cost avoidance savings (if indicated)
- Records the workload (if indicated)
- Saves documents attached to dispense (if added)
If your site utilizes E-Signature and you are a verifying user, you will need to verify with your Pin or biometric key.

If you need to dispense another order for this participant, select the order from the dropdown and continue. You can return to the protocol by selecting the protocol link at the top right of the screen.
At the bottom of the dispense screen, you have the following additional options:
- You can return to the participant’s profile by clicking the appropriate link at the bottom of the screen.
- You can return to the patient/subject list of the protocol by clicking the appropriate link at the bottom of the screen.
- You can proceed to document return/destruction by clicking the appropriate link at the bottom of the screen.